Female leadership: Understanding it, making it more efficient and looking at its current and future evolution

Female leadership: Understanding it, making it more efficient and looking at its current and future evolution

by
67 67 people viewed this event.

There are more women than men graduating from business school.  Then why, most times, do we only find maybe one or two women sitting on a company’s executive board?

International HR manager George Brown addresses this question in his talk as he looks at what women in leadership means in 2020.  What have been the trends in the last five years?  

Brown zones in on the essential questions, such as what is preventing a woman from getting to a top management position, aside from managing double careers and motherhood?  Are these obstacles on a corporate level, coming from a masculine environment or does it come from within on a feminine level?

COVID-19 is setting back progress for years, triggering an exodus of women from the workplace and amplifying inequities. According to a report from the US Labor Department, as the school year started, women quit their jobs at four times the rate of men.  Women, who are typically the lower wage earner in a family, are bearing the brunt of parenting and running a household during a pandemic.  

For those still in the workplace, Brown will offer some concrete advice on what women can do differently to get to the top.  One has to do with making noise.  

One reason men are more likely to make it to the top is because they are more visible and they make more noise.  Women, on the other hand, think their work speaks for itself and they will be credited for it.  But that’s not the case.  

While Brown offers great tips for women, men stand to gain a new perspective on women in the workplace.

The presentation is in French. However, English questions are welcome during the Q&A.

George Brown

George Brown hails from Ireland and has worked internationally in human resources.  He was the European VP of HR at Cadbury (formerly Cadbury Schweppes) in the UK for three years.  He was the HR director for Suez (now part of Engie) in Paris for eight years.  He worked for Schlumberger and McDonald’s, where he worked 12 years as the VP of HR and European franchising.

For years, Brown fiddled with the idea of starting a business.  He finally got around to it in 2010 as he launched GADT Consulting.  Among the principle activities, GADT Consulting focuses on leadership, high potential managers and M&A assessing.  Brown helps companies with their due diligence before making a major acquisition by making sure there is good cultural fit.   

Brown has been a guest lecturer at Toulouse Business School to talk about leadership, corporate social responsibility and M&A.  He is writing a book on management and leadership.

To register for this event please visit the following URL: https://www.weezevent.com/le-leadership-au-feminin-2 →

 

Date And Time

14 October, 2020 @ 18:30

Share With Friends

Le Leadership au féminin, bien le comprendre, le rendre plus performant encore et envisager son évolution actuelle et future

Le Leadership au féminin, bien le comprendre, le rendre plus performant encore et envisager son évolution actuelle et future

par
181 181 people viewed this event.

Il y a plus de femmes que d’hommes diplômées d’écoles de commerce. Alors pourquoi ne retrouve-t-on qu’une ou deux femmes siégeant dans les conseils d’administration des entreprises ?

Le manager en RH international George BROWN pose la question lors de sa conférence alors qu’il regarde ce que signifie le leadership au féminin en 2020. Quelles ont été les tendances dans les cinq dernières années?  

George BROWN balaie les questions essentielles telles que : qu’est-ce qui empêche une femme d’atteindre une position de cadre dirigeant, à part le fait de devoir gérer à la fois sa carrière et la maternité ? Ces obstacles se situent-ils au niveau de l’entreprise, d’un environnement masculin ou au sein même de la population féminine ?

La Covid-19 remet en question des progrès réalisés pendant des années, créant un exode des femmes de leur lieu de travail et amplifiant les inégalités. Selon le rapport du Département d’Etat américain du travail, à la dernière rentrée des classes, le taux de femmes quittant leur emploi a été quatre fois plus élevé que celui des hommes. Les femmes, qui sont typiquement le membre de la famille qui gagne le moins, supportent le choc de la parentalité tout en gérant le ménage durant une pandémie.

Pour celles qui sont toujours au travail, George BROWN leur fait part de conseils pratiques sur la manière dont les femmes peuvent agir différemment pour atteindre le sommet. L’un deux est de faire du bruit. 

En effet, une des raisons pour lesquelles les hommes sont plus susceptibles d’atteindre les sommets de la hiérarchie est qu’ils sont plus visibles et se font plus remarquer. Les femmes en revanche, pensent que leur travail parle de lui-même et qu’elles en seront récompensées. Mais ce n’est pas le cas.  

Les hommes dans le public apprécieront la présentation qui leur permettra d’avoir une meilleure compréhension du ressenti des femmes au travail.

La présentations est en français, suivi de questions/réponses en anglais et français.

George Brown

George BROWN vient d’Irlande et a travaillé dans le domaine des Ressources Humaines à l’international. Il était le VP RH de Cadbury (précédemment Cadbury Schweppes) au Royaume Uni pendant 3 ans. Il a été le DRH de Suez (aujourd’hui dépendant d’Engie) à Paris pendant 8 ans. Il a travaillé pour Schlumberger et McDonald’s, en tant que VP RH et franchise européenne.

Pendant des années, George BROWN avait l’idée de créer sa propre entreprise, ce qu’il fit finalement en 2010 en lançant GADT Consulting. Parmi les activités principales, GDT se concentre sur le leadership, l’évaluation des managers à haut potentiel ainsi que des fusions et acquisitions. George BROWN aide les entreprises dans les vérifications nécessaires préalablement à une acquisition majeure en s’assurant que les cultures des deux entités seront compatibles.

George BROWN a été un conférencier à TBS pour parler de leadership, RSE ainsi que de  fusions et acquisitions. Actuellement, il est en train d’écrire un livre sur le management et le leadership.

Pour s’inscrire à cet évènement, Veuillez vous rendre à l’URL suivante : https://www.weezevent.com/le-leadership-au-feminin-2 →

 

Date And Time

14 octobre, 2020 @ 18:30

Share With Friends